(605) 472-4566

Redfield Alerts:

Explore Redfield

Granite Hall
Granite Hall Photo

17262 W 3rd Street
Redfield, SD 57469
US

Category:  Historical Sites


Located on the North Side of Redfield at the SDDC Campus

Granite Cottage is so named because it was built of Sioux Falls Granite. It was initially the entire facility of the Northern Hospital for the Insane. Construction costs totaled $63,245 and utilization began February 1, 1902.
The building had a capacity of 48 residents and also housed office space, plumbing and heating plant, root cellar, laundry, engine room and employee's living quarters.

From 1904 to 1918 Granite Cottage was known as the first Admistration Building of the Redfield State Hospital and School. A new resident living building had been completed in 1904. Granite Hall received its present name in 1920 when the administrative offices were moved to the present administrative building.




Click to Activate


Add to Report View Custom Report
Fast Fact Image

Redfield College 1885-1932

Redfield College was begun in 1885 by the pastor and congregation of the German Evangelical Congregational Church. It continued until 1932 when it merged with Yankton College.